• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Software raid within Windows

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

smoth

I am currently studying in Germany doing computer simulations and estimate that I will have about ~1.5 TB of data by the time I leave in 2 weeks (currently have ~900GB). I am realizing that I came over here on the unprepared side, but fortunately brought a 2TB hdd mainly for entertainment...needless to say, I have deleted all of my entertainment and have started loading it up with all my simulation results. However, since this is for my PhD thesis, I need to ensure this data is relatively safe (I shall define as being able to withstand a drive failure). My current strategy for my research, photography, and music collection is to install random drives (currently have 2 1TB and 5 2TB) and use some software to sync folders on different drives...wherever I can find space to sync the full drive. This is inexpensive, easy to set up, expandable (up to a point), but inefficient.

I have no need for the benefits of a hardware raid solution, especially given the cost of a 10+ drive setup and I find it to be very limiting in upgradability, especially for personal use. Before I dig myself into too deep of a hole, I need a more elegant solution as I have to store this data reliably for the next 10+ years.

I am thinking a software raid system, such as FlexRaid, is my best bet for several reasons:

-Expandable with any size drive makes for easy upgradeability as drive sizes grow without having to replace the whole array or search for outdated models

-compatible with normal drives (does not require TLER, etc)

-does not require expensive controller cards

-significantly cheaper than hardware solutions due to above 2 mentioned items (I am a student after all)

-customizable redundancy