• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

OC and fan speed on a GTX 670

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

kristian221

I got a few questions about OC, as I have never done it before.
Got my new GTX 670 FTW with 4GB of memory in (well after the first one was RMA) and I thought I would try OC it. I know the 680 is faster but I heard a 670 could easily OC to get to its level. I downloaded the Precision X software from EVGA and it made it look so easy...I just bumped it up to 1200Hz. But is that really it? That is all there is to it? Is this software any good? Don't even notice the difference in speed :shrug:

Also I am curious about the temps I am getting on it, it can get upwards to 80C after only a few minutes of play, is that bad? Because I see I can set the software to control the fan curve and that keeps the temps lower but its so loud when using that!

With software like this it is as simple as this, just go in to settings and ensure the start at boot is selected for your settings, so that the OC is maintained on reboots, but first ensure it is stable at these speeds, i.e. playing games etc.

I usually use MSI Afterburned as you can also control the voltage, never tried EVGA own software on my EVGA GTX 670 FTW (2GB version, as the extra VRAM was not important as I only game on a single 27" screen).

The FAN can get loud, but it help keeps temps down. I usually game with a headset, so I never notice the fan which is fine for me, but my girlfriend does get annoyed lol. I keep my temps around 45-50C with about a FAN speed of 65-70%; but I very rarely OC the card as I cap my FPS to 70 on my games anyway. So I only OC if I game is not maintaining 70 FPS which it rarely does with this card.