• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

A few questions on oc'ing the i5 2500k.

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Frenzyy

Hi everyone, I created an account on this forum as I'm looking for some help when it comes to overclocking my cpu as well as gpu (further). I'm not a pro or anything so please don't be too harsh if I don't know something or have done something wrong.
Without wasting anymore of your time, let's get to my setup as it is probably the most important part.
CPU: i5 2500k 3.3Ghz OC @ 4.4Ghz- Tested with AIDA 64 Extreme. The temps never went above 60 degrees but the voltage was going all the way up to 1.4v which was a bit worrying for me and that's why I decided to get some help here. It was actually stable @ 4.5Ghz but when I went up to 4.6Ghz and restarted my pc, it wouldn't turn on so I decided to go back to 4.4.
Cooler: Be Quiet! Pure Rock 210
GPU: MSI GTX 970 4G (I have created a separate topic when it comes to this so if you would also like to help then here is the link: http://www.overclockers.com/forums/...-ing-the-MSI-GTX-970-4G?p=7791031#post7791031 )
Mobo: AsRock P67 Pro 3
RAM: 2x4GB RipjawsX 1600 CL9
PSU: OCZ 650W

If you need any more information about my setup then I'm more than happy to answer your questions as well as if you want me to do any other tests a part from AIDA then again, I'm more than happy to do so.
Now the questions:
1. What would you suggest when it comes to setting the voltage? I mean what is the best maximum value I should set?
2. What are the max. temperatures which will allow me to run even 24/7 if needs be? (It's not going to run 24/7 but I'd prefer to be on the safe side, if you know what I mean. :p)
3. What do you recommend I should do in order to get the most out of this CPU?