• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

A8N32-SLI Deluxe overclocking...help?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

WolfRogers

I'm pretty new to overclocking, though through trial and error, I have managed to get a decent boost, but I'm hoping to get a bit more without having to make any hardware changes. First off, what I'm running.
-Asus A8N32-SLI Deluxe mobo
-AMD Athlon 64 X2 4400+
-Matched pair Corsair PC3200 1GB RAM chips
So far, by following the settings in another post on here, http://www.ocforums.com/showthread.php?t=468038 , I've been able to pull 2.6GHz. I did limit the memclock value to 200MHz, but left the MCT timing mode set to auto. With those settings changed, the system runs just a bit warmer than normal, but with them set to auto, I actually run 4-6 degrees C cooler running 2.6Ghz than I do at the stock 2.2. Don't see how that could be, but it is. Any more info, or perhaps a full profile would be wonderfully helpful. I've tried other profiles, but they are set up for different CPUs, and most cause my system to stop posting, and I have to reset CMOS...that's getting -old- considering the jumper is directly beneath the PCI-Express clip.

:welcome: to OCF!

Wow - you actually had to reset the CMOS?!? That's unusual for that board.

Open CPU-Z and look at the SPD tab. What are the stock timings and voltage listed for 200 MHz? At 236x11 I'd guess the BIOS is changing RAM timings and getting them wrong as usual. Never saw a BIOS yet that knew what it was doing with OC'ed RAM. :-/ That's why it's critical to set the RAM timings manually - you have no control over it if it's on [Auto].

Also, have you lowered your HT Link (K8 to NB Freq) down to 4X ...?

Followup