• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

SOLVED Alphacool MCX GPU memory blocks

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

elgreco31

Was looking for a thread to discuss these MCX mini-blocks as I'm in dire need of some expert opinions. Couldn't really find one specifically tackling these blocks so decided to take the plunge and start a new one. First-timer, so be gentle.

I'm a noob myself with this being my first water cooled build so kinda feeling my (very expensive) way round the process.

Despite planning this for ages, I managed to make some basic mistakes. My main advice as one newcomer to any others around is, if you're planning to watercool a GPU, I strongly advise using a reference sized card!

Anyway, I'm all set for most of my build and it's actually up and running (more or less). Using an XSPC block on my CPU and an XSPC pump/res combo with two rads and respective fans interspersed between CPU and GPU.

The problem first arose when I realised no one makes a full-cover block for my Vapor-X 7970. I went for another XSPC GPU only block thinking that would be that. However, when I stripped the initial card from it's heatsink and fans and installed the block, I found the card will only run for 10-15 seconds before it puts the display to sleep.

I can get in the PC bios but even with an SSD cannot get into Windows properly before my screen goes dark. I have a Logitech G15 so I can see the PC is still happily running, but the screen is asleep.

First question. The memory modules are now bare leading me to the conclusion that this might be the cause of the problem and that their overheat was causing the shutdown. Is this a possibility or am I way off the mark?

Second question. How can I be sure that my GPU block is doing its job and that the overheat is not stemming from the chip itself?