• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

AMD FX-8120 help

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

kfkracer

hi im new to over clocking i would like to overclock my 8120 to 5.1ghz and if i can i would love to get it to 5.5ghz
i am new to overclocking i had a AMD FX-4100 i tryed to get to 5ghz anf faild so i got the 8120 i also have a set of corsair dominator gts 1866mhz i have seen people use them on this mobo without problems but when i run mine i get random BSODS so im here to ask for help can someone tell me how to overclock my 8120 to 5.1 or 5.5 ghz and maybe hot to run my Dominators without geting BSODS ATM im using the Crosshair V Formula BIOS 1301 and may upgrade to the new 1402 if need be if u need more info i will me more then happy to post just let me know what u need

CPU
AMD FX-8120
corespeed: 3.1 GHz

RAM
G.SKILL F3-12800CL9D-8GBRL
size: 4 GBytes

Cooling
corsair h100

Power
OCZ ZT series 750w

Motherboard
ASUS Crosshair V Formula

Hard Drive
Ocz Solid 3
count: 1
capacity: 60 GBytes
and a 1tb wd hdd

OS
windows 7 ultimate 64 bit

Case
NZXT Phantom

Graphics
Evga GTX 550 Ti
memory: 2 GBytes

I haven't heard of anyone being able to overclock that CPU to 5.0 on air or normal water cooling. Where did you get the idea that you might be able to get that CPU to that level, much less 5.5 ghz? It'll get way too hot before that point. I think you might do well to lower your goals to like 4.5 ghz.

The link below is from the ROG Gamers and is about the only person I have seen this year thinking to reach 5.0Ghz on Top End air. You can follow his methods with that CHV board and see what 'you' get. They have a forum over there as well and maybe they know something that noone else does about the ROG boards.

CrossHair V Motherboards | Overclocking · 27 Feb, 2012 ·
· written by Dagmar ·
ROG HQ