• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

SOLVED AMD FX - Throttling (not temp related)

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

salsoul

Ive got some intersting findings about the FX throttling. its nothing to do with temperature it seems to be task specific. I went back to stock setting and ran small FFTs with prime 95.. immediatly within 2 seconds of starting prime, the cores were throttling. all temps were normal 33core 42socket.. I stopped benching and changed to blend. a few minutes in its starts throttling again.. temps 40core 48socket.

I swiched to cinebench. some throttling but not much. again temps normal. remeber this is at stock. it was underclocking to 3.3ghz 16.5 multi. nothing to do with heat.

From my findings ( and I am by no means an expert in this field and this is all speculation)

tasks with High FPU calculations get throttled by the cpu. I dont know why ? possibly because of the lower FPU count. Im hoping an expert can verify what im saying. here is a screenshot of what im on about.. I had been running prime95 for 15mins small ffts. the setting are slightly above stock multi 21.0 200FSB = 4200Mhz speed. voltage 1.3875v LLC full calibration.

As you can see all temps are normal but throttling is occuring ? so it cannot be temp related.

I also ran cinebench at 4.62ghz with just a multi overclock. the results were

Pass 1 with 4.6ghz via Multiplyer : 23.0 results = 7.05 points @4.62Ghz.
---------------------------------------------------------------------

For the next test I OC via FSB to 4.62 set fsb to 279 x16.5 = 4.62Ghz

Pass 2 with 4.6Ghz via FSB OC 279x16.5 results = 7.58 points @ 4.62Ghz