• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Arctic Silver 5 + PS4

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Kohta

My warranty ran out and I started playing Destiny recently, I noticed the fans were unusually ramped up, looking back at my receipt it had been over a year now so no point in seeing what sony had to say.

I popped in another game FFXIV and the fans went to hairdryer behind a closed door kinda loud, it's sitting on a desk wide open and about 71F ambient.

So I took it upon myself to strip it apart to find the factory thermal paste was like Ole play dough ... after cleaning everything up I spread method some AS5 out it back together but the fans were still pretty high... I pushed down where the tension bracket set and the fans went down, meaning it wasn't making good contact, either because the spread method isn't the way to go or I didn't tighten it enough.

Ripped it back open and verified everything was as tight as it could go, so I replaced the AS5 again but this time I just globbed it on, too much would still be better than bad contact.

Double checked that everything was tight but I still seem to be having issues with it separating... I'm wondering if AS5 is too thin because after about 30 to 45 mins in intense area and it ramps up and can be remedied by pushing down on the case in the area of the APU, is there some other thicker compound for situations like this?

"spread method"?