• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Asus Crosshair IV Formula: Four Questions Concerning Installation

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Route44

I am building my brother-in-law a gaming system using this board. To be honest I have never worked with such a high end board before and so I have four questions concerning the installation. Three questions are raised from the following:

The manual states: "If you use a SATA optical drive to run the OS installation, we strongly recommend you install the SATA drive to connectors 5/6 and set them to [IDE] mode."

1. Why IDE mode?

2. Once the OS is installed and since this will be a SATA DVD drive, should I then set it to SATA in the BIOS? If not, why not?

Or is is that by forcing IDE mode it ensures compatibility with 'legacy OSes' - those that don't natively support SATA? I imagine if you install something like Vista/7/or any modern kernel linux distro that there would be no problem with it in native SATA. Correct or not?

The OS is Windows 7 -64-bit so should I set the SATA DVD drive to SATA in the BIOS and then install 7?

3. Any chipset drivers that I should be aware of to avoid installing?

Thanks.

I was going to answer all your questions individually, but then I read the others and realized it was the same fundamental issue, and not multiple issues.