• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

(Asus GTX 980 Ti 6GB) Trouble with OC

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Faye

Registered
I'm quite new to GPU overclocking, and mainly only having fun trying to find a stable overclock (i.e. stable in the games I play) for the card I got a couple of days ago. I don't mind playing on the stock OC, but very curious to know what more I could get out of it.

I've come across multiple overclock reviews/articles for this card, but I can't seem to reach any of the boosts these people are using without getting a crash in-game (or when running Heaven).

Questions:

1) Some overclock reviewers are showing, or saying, how they've increased the Core Voltage to +55, or even to +85. My card has a max cap of +50 – why is that? With +50, my V goes up to 1.212, which if I understand correctly is not extremely high? One article showed an OC for this (Asus) card at 1.218 V.

2) With the overclock as seen in the screenshot, I could complete Heaven's benchmark on Ultra without issues, but GTAV and ESO crashed randomly after 5-60 minutes of playing. I then reduced the Core Clock to +70 and Memory to +250, which stopped the crashes in GTA but not in ESO. I then went down even further to +60 / +220, which seems to be stable for ESO. Are these games just not handling OCs very well, or am I doing something wrong? Could my PSU (Corsair CS600W) be too weak? The overclock in the screenshot here is below what a lot of reviews/articles have done for this particular card during their tests, and they seem to have gotten it perfectly stable in all taxing games. Did I just have bad luck and get a card that's not very good for a higher overclock?

My specs:

ASUS Rampage IV Black Edition
i7-4930k at 3.9 Ghz
16 GB RAM at 1600 Mhz
1440p/60Hz monitor, running games/Heaven at native 1440p.