• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

AthlonXP 2500 OC

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

dedembo

Registered
Hey guys,

I am really new in OC. Actually i starting OC by buying AthlonXP 2500+ due to my interest to emulation. So i apologise if i am asking the silly questions here.
My system is;
AthlonXP 2500 with standart fan comes with the Boxed CPU
Kingston PC3200 512 Mb DDR Ram
Mobo ASUS Asus A7N8X
I have a Fan for cooling the Mobo

As far as i heard from people who are not expert of OC i set my multiplier at 11.5
VCore: 1.80 Volts
FSB 200
Memory frequency is BY SPD

I tested my CPU for 30 mins by doing RAR of 2 gig at the same time DivX movie and emulation
I checked the CPU usage from WinXP it says 100%
CPU heat is 50 C
Mobo is about 35-40 C

Normally system works stable but for example the other day when i was watching a MOV file on Quicktime PC crashed. Then i started thinking about stability because it is very stressful to run a PC like that. Lats time it crashed i lost my 1 Gig of download from the net.

So considering i am not good at OC what do you recommend? What am i doing wrong? What do i need to do or buy (extra cooling?) and what is the right temperature of AMD CPUs?

Thanks a lot in advance

You need to use prime95 and run it for 24 hour's try not to get above 50c to make sure you system is stable also run about 6-12 hour's of 3dmark looping to make sure you system can handle heavy gaming. MBM5 is a great system monitor and if your planing to overclock pretty high you will need to get better cooling.