• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Best intro books for understanding UEFI and Windows?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Antisthenes

Registered
Can anyone please recommend good introduction books/resources (for dummies) in order to really understand the structure of UEFI and Windows?

I'm totally new to computer programming, and only know the simplest way to overclock my i7-6700k on an Asus Maximus VIII Impact mini-ITX, but want to learn everything necessary to troubleshoot, overclock and optimize high-end computers for gaming only.

For example: 1) knowing which services to disable in Windows (instead of just blindly following Black Viper's suggestions), 2) how to safely tweak the registry in the most optimal way, 3) genuinely understand how to overcklock, control fans in BIOS, and update UEFI, 4) secure a rig against virus and (firmware/rootkit) hacking without slowing down games, 5) recognize virus and spyware programs (in Windows Task Manager), 6) only installing Windows updates that will not have a negative impact on gaming, 7) truly knowing which third party programs will actually improve a G-sync monitor, 8) install game mods safely, without compromising security, and 9) optimizing my internet settings for online gaming.

First need a book that explains all the (basic) jargon used in manuals about UEFI and Windows. Explanations that are pedagogic and step-by-step. Tired of trying to read books and manuals that just assume that the reader is already familiar with computer programming.