• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Bottom and side fans - any point?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

samion

Registered
Hi I'm very new to cases and fans (have always just built systems without fans) btu am now building an OC 2700k system with a 6950 GPU so will need somethign cool.

I've done a LOT of reading and researching and ppl here have been very helpful so far (thank you!! :) ) and now I have three questions.

1) Bottom fans - are these better than front? Or are they pointless? It seems front is most popular but some cases go bottom and top instead of front/back, which really makes more sense seeing as heat rises etc Is this the better way to go?

2) Side fans - good or bad? I'm interested in a Luan-Li (p63) case which looks awesome excpet for one thing - no side fan hole !!! One of the many things I read (somewhere) says that airFLOW is the most important, so one shoudl keep it simple with air entry at the front and exit at the top and therefore having a random gust of air blasting in from the side just destroys the air current and confuses things... is it nto a good idea? is it ok? or is it very important? and if so, can I just drill a load of holes in the side panel and pop my own fan in?

3) More vs less fans... I'm beginning to think after some help here that more fans at lower RPM will help me shift as much air but will be overall quieter than a couple of fans at the higher RPM. Any thoughts?

Thanks for any help in advance :)