• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

[Build Help] Which build should I get? Two R9 280X or One R9 290X

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

DJ777

This is my first time making a build and after a long amount of deliberation and planning, I have settled upon the following two builds. I'm glad that I checked this site before starting to purchase it yesterday, because I read about the new GPU releases from NVIDIA and consequently the possible price drop which I will be waiting for.

Until then, I'm going to order the components, get it up and running and rely on the integrated graphics. Hopefully there will be some significant savings for having waited for two weeks!

[Build 1]( )

[Build 2]( )

Since my expertise is clearly lacking, here are some questions I have:

1) Is the differences in the motherboard (between the Gigabyte and MSI) going to be vast? I compared the two via comparison sites and the MSI seems better but if it won't be noticeable then I'd rather go for the cheaper

2) Will having two R9 280X make a significant change to the visible graphics and my ability to run games at the highest possible setting in comparison to the one R9 290X? Also which one will become obsolete quicker?

3) Will the tower be able to house all of my components?

4) Ignoring the differences in the two builds, are they both compatible? Do you see any issues regarding either of them?

5) Which would you recommend? Personally, if the difference between the two is minimal, I'd rather go for the cheaper option which will save me ~£80.

Thank you very much in advance!

EDIT: Replace the HyperX 16GB RAM for Two (2x4GB) G-Skill Ripjaw 2133 MHz which will save £10 on Build 2

1. Gigabyte is generally a better board than MSI.