• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

building a killer gaming rig starting with asus a8n sli-deluxe motherboard

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

markyoneandonly

Registered
hi everyone,anyone got any tips on which processor to buy for this mobo bearing in mind i do not have access to a money tree?All i,d like to do is play doom 3 at stupidily high frame rates and kick peoples arses on it.I plan on getting a 6600gt256 card but later buying a second and have them running in sli mode but one will do for now.
What is the best/fastest hard drives to buy?
what do you think of the athlon 64 fx55 chip i,ve read nothing but good reviews but it does seem a little pricey,should i wait a while for fx57?
this is my first build any help would be greatly received......
thanx marky.
my system at the moment is a packard bell i-media
60 gig ide
1024 memory
and a crap geforce mx 440
audigy 800 sound card
live drive 2
lg dvd r/w-r

i would get a 3000 or 3200,western digital raptor(10,000 rpm) is about the fastest out for sata,i'd get a 36gig for os,use your 60 for data,games and such,6600gt is a good choice,my son has an AGP version and it works well.

If you are going to overclock make sure you get a 3000+ or 3200+ Venice, I would recommend the DFI Ultra D, although you said you were building around the A8N SLI, I don't know how flexible you are. For RAM something like the OCZ VX if you want UTT or some GSkill TCCD seems popular. Don't forget a reliable PSU like a Fortron Blue Storm. I would not recommend a Raptor because I don't think they are worth the price, just get a Seagate 7200.8 drive of whatever size you want.