• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Building a PC-complete newbie!-UK

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

kayum

Registered
Ok i was looking to purchase a desktop PC but then i changed my mind and i thought i would rather build it myself, first of all i know how to build a PC but don't know anything about the best parts for my money, i was looking to purchase this:http://www.currys.co.uk/martprd/sto...m=null&tm=null&sku=140749&category_oid=-35430
but i am in no rush and i rather get the best for my money(student). The main usage for my computer would be browsing,converting movies and watching HD films but NO GAMING. The only thing I have is a 22" TV/monitor and keyboard-mouse. The only suggestion I have is that I want a small PC case as i have limited space and i want HDMI input so i can connect to the monitor, I happy to listen to all suggestions. BTW I live in England and my budget is around £250. THANK YOU:thup:

my sister has a core 2 duo laptop with 2gb ram and it does everything i need flawlessley, so i was thinking of getting a core 2 duo cpu or equivalent and get 2gb ram and i can upgrade this later, what else do i need to complete the computer because i swear you need a fan?

my sister has a core 2 duo laptop with 2gb ram and it does everything i need flawlessley, so i was thinking of getting a core 2 duo cpu or equivalent and get 2gb ram and i can upgrade this later, what else do i need to complete the computer because i swear you need a fan?

You can't afford a C2D. The cheapest available is a E7400 at ~$120. The E5300 I suggested in my Intel build is very very similar and is the best Intel chip you are going to get if you need everything within that budget.