• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Cannot Overclock G3258 AE

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

7shades

Hi there,
I'm having trouble trying to overclock my cpu.
On my last mobo (MSI H81) I was able to raise the clock up to 3.8 on stock cooler.
Now, whenever I tweak anything concerning core ratio or voltage I'm rewarded with either one of the next 2 scenarios.
1. If i try to OC. Past 3.7 I get a system failure and boot loop and I'm required to clear the CMOS this also happens if I choose any preset.
2. If I try to OC to 3.7 or below, Im able to save and boot into Windows normally but none of the changes I set in the bios are actually applied to the CPU. (CPUZ and System confirm that )
I'm relatively new to Ocing so here is an explanation of the settings I have fiddle with.

AI Overclock tuner* > Manual
BCLK Frequency**** > 100.0
1-Core Ratio Limit** > 3.7 up to 4.5
Min.CPU Cache Ratio > 20 up to 32 (can't get higher)
Max. CPU Cache Ratio > 20 up to 32 (same)

CPU Core Voltage** >1.1.v up to 1.23.v
CPU Cache Voltage* > 1.16.v
CPU System Agent Voltage* > 085.v
CPU Analog I/O Voltage* > 1.0.v
CPU Digital I/O Voltage* > 1.05.v
Initial CPU Input Voltage > 1.68.v
Eventual CPU Input Voltage* 1.68.v
CPU Spread Spectrum > Disabled
Enhanced Intel SpeedStep Technology > Disabled
CPU C-States > Disabled

Hope someone can help me out!
Cheers!

My system specs

Motherboard > Asus Maximus vii Gene
CPU > Pentium G3258 AE
GPU > MSI GTX 750TI
RAM > Kingston Hyper X Savage 2x4gb
Cooler > Corsair H100i Extreme
OS Storage > 2x120gb Kingston Hyper X Fury on Raid0
Storage > Seagate Barracuda 7200 rpm HDD
PSU > CoolerMaster B500
Case > Fractal Design Define R4 Black Pearl