• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Coolermaster RC330 - Worth adding a roof fan?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

gcwebbyuk

I have a Coolermaster RC330 case, which is currently running two Scythe SF21E fans in a in at front, out at back configuration.

I have been reading up on case modding, and I know my case is not designed really for that kinda thing, as its a fairly small one, I did wonder wether fitting a roof fan might benefit the air flow in the case at all?

The CPU etc doesn't get overly hot, its more a "case" of having two Coolermaster 120mm fans lying around, and the fact there is enough space to dremel out a hole big enough for one fan in between the PSU and the back of the DVD-RW drive.

However, would this affect airflow in a negative way, as the case wasn't designed to work like this.

I would probably have the fan pulling air into the case, which should pull it in directly over the RAM and just before the CPU.

Any thoughts? Good idea or not worth it?

Lol... well my case had the same airflow as yours before I did any modding. It had an 80mm and 120mm intake fan at the front, and a 120mm exhaust out the back. The airflow was kinda sucky. So... I did exactly what you want to do, and I put a 120mm exhaust on the top and my temperatures went down about 3-5C. I wouldn't recommend making it an intake fan since it's at the top and hot air rises. What I did in my case was: 2 80mm intake fans on the very bottom of my side panel, an 80mm and 120mm intake on the very bottom of the front of the case, and then the 120mm exhaust on top and 120mm exhaust on the back. This way airflow comes from the bottom and moves up naturally to the top and back. So... if I were you I'd put an 80mm or 120mm intake on the very bottom towards the back of your case and a 120mm exhaust on top.