• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

SOLVED Cooling 3570k (Ivy Bridge) @ 4.5ghz?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

LGkoster

Registered
I'm going to begin my gaming build soon.
I plan to purchase an i5 3570k processor and overclock @ 4.5ghz ; in pair with Maximus V Formula mobo.
(I may decide to oc to 4.2/4.3ghz)

My question is, (considering this is my first build), what cooler would handle this IB processor @ 4.5ghz with safe temperatures?

I'm looking for a cooler that is "easier" to install for beginner builders.
I would rather not tamper with water coolers in which you have to put together etc.
A Corsair Liquid Cooler, is more so in my ball park. Or a regular heatsink/fan combo. Thanks to all in advance. :)

Welcome!

What case do you have? Do you have room for a H100i or Swiftech H220? If not, grab a H80i.

You can get away with a much less expensive mobo, FYI..that board is really made for extreme overclocking (Dry Ice, Liquid Nitrogen) so a lot of the features it has you will not be using...

Welcome!

What case do you have? Do you have room for a H100i or Swiftech H220? If not, grab a H80i.

You can get away with a much less expensive mobo, FYI..that board is really made for extreme overclocking (Dry Ice, Liquid Nitrogen) so a lot of the features it has you will not be using...

Thank you! And I'm using the "Super Aeolus" RAIDMAX case. (Thanks dad!).
Case:
http://www.raidmax.com/chassis/super_aeolus.html