• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Corsair Vengeance clock speed issue

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Scryden

Hello,

I am new to overclocking and have a weird issue.

My mainboard is an MSI MS-7760. This board has 2x quad channel DDR3.
When I bought my pc, there was already 4x4 GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600MHz 9-9-9-24 installed in one of the two quad channels.
Yesterday I bought an extra kit 4x4 GB to fill the second quad channel. The memory kit is exactly the same. So it is also 4x4 GB Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz 9-9-9-24.

Before I installed the new kit, my BIOS reports that the DRAM frequency was set to 1600MHz (like the sticker on RAM sticks report). After I installed the second quad channel kit, my mobo reports that overclocking failed and settings were reset to default. I noticed that the DRAM frequency was set back to 1333MHz. So I manually adjusted it back to 1600MHz and rebooted the PC. Immediately my mobo reports again that overclocking failed and cannot boot, so again settings were reset to default and now I am able to boot into Windows.

So my question is if anyone can tell me what the big difference is with 1 quad channel installed and 2 quad channels installed? All 8 memory sticks are equal, that is same manufacturer, same model, same speeds, same latencies and same size. Why am I unable to run the recommended DRAM frequency?

PS: CPU-Z reports 666.7MHz. This was higher before the installation.