• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

CPU Overclocked to 3.8ghz from 3.5ghz - Computer Wouldn't Boot

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Chibigoat

So I've recently overclocked my AMD Phenom II x6 1055T to 3.5ghz from 2.8 and it's been perfectly fine, ran a three hours test at max usage and the max the temp got to was 43C, so it's good with 3.5ghz, but I tried to bring it up to 3.8 saved, continued to boot it and a quick blue screen flashed and it brought me back to the bios start so I changed it back to 3.5ghz, not wanting to break my computer.

What would be the reasoning for it not wanting to go to 3.8ghz? Is there a big difference between 3.5 and 3.8? I'm brand new to cpu overclocking btw.

Or, was that just a normal thing and it would have booted? I didn't want to take the chance.

Would it be the voltage? I've read plenty that says don't touch the voltage, but I recently read that a guy overclocked his cpu (same as mine) to 3.8ghz and he raised his voltage to 1.4 from 1.35. Like I said, I'm brand new so I want to be careful.

Last edited:
Yes, it is a big difference to go from 3.5 ghz to 3.8. You probably need more core voltage but you also may need to reduce your ram frequency and your NB and HT Link frequency. Those three frequencies are tuned to the CPU frequency when you overclock the FSB like you have to when overclocking a 1055T because it is not a black edition CPU and the CPU core speed multiplier is fixed in the upward direction. If the ram frequency, the HT Link frequency or the NB frequency get too high they will make the system unstable.