• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

DRAM and NB frequency not lining up

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

electroshock777

Registered
Alright, so I'm a bit confused about my RAM speed. As I understand it, DRAM frequency x2 should equal NB frequency. However:
mem speed.PNG
I am running triple channel G.Skill DDR3 RAM rated at 2133Mhz, so the NB frequency seems about right, but then the DRAM frequency is a quarter of that rather than half?
I am a bit of a newb to this so I could be missing something, but could someone please explain if it's supposed to be like this?

What are your system's specs (motherboard, CPU, etc.). If AMD, they have traditonally not had the best memory controller on their chips and the motherboard may just just setting the speed at something it considers "safe". Have you tried setting the speed manually in the BIOS? And does your motherboard support 2133 MHz?

Thanks for the advice. I've tried that, though this still doesn't make sense:
mem speed2.PNG
The DRAM frequency seems right, but now the NB also doubled?

Dram and NB don't need to be double... that said 1000mhz in CPUz is 2000mhz ddr, and if that is true 2000 is half of 4000.

The speed you see now just isn't idle. It ramps up AFAIK.

Thanks. And just to confirm(as I said I'm a bit of a newb), this isn't damaged my system in any way? Like I'm not overclocking my RAM or anything?

Well this makes no sense to me, but hopefully it does to you:
View attachment 201478
And after changed enabling xmp, windows doesn't see all of my RAM anymore? cpuz still picks up the 12GB, but windows:
memsize.PNG

Thanks in advance.

Last edited:
I would edit that pic and lose your product key from it.

Try reseating the RAM, then test each slot with one stick. Next, test each stick in a known good slot.