• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

e6420 oc, wrong temps.did i get it right ?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

genuine555

first of all, this is only my 2nd oc, so i'm NO expert by far !

my sh#*t :
[email protected], [email protected] zalman cnps9500-cu@full speed
batch L644G (a real crapper!) :bang head:
corsair twinx2048-6400c5d x2 stock settings (1:1 with fsb)
Nvidia 7600gs (no comment plz,im not into gaming)
4xwd500gb sataIII
psu OCZ 600W
Antec 900 gamerscase with 4 120mm fans (2front,back,side) blowing into the case,and 200mm top exhaust fan.
nb cooled by thermaltake extreme spirit II
sb cooled by enzotech copper sink & xilence 40mm fan

Had an intel mobo first, cauze i didn't feel like oc'ing. But after a while i changed my mind and bought asus p5b. Decent mobo, but i do have batch L644G, that's why i didn't want to oc at first.
Cauze this batch is terrible. No really, the worst of it's kind. But i'm having fun oc'ing it.
Couldn't get a decent oc as my temps went skyrocket with a higher vcore. I did have terrible cooling, so i decided to max out air cooling first, and then after oc'ing this bugger to the max and maybe killing the damn thing, then i'd upgrade it, maybe getting a better batch.

So i took care of the first,rebuild my rig as shown above and started oc'ing.:beer: Cooling seems exagurated, but bear in mind that i am going to get a cpu upgrade soon, so i'll have everything i need by then.:santa:

So i started oc. But after installing speedfan and everest, some issues with the temps came to light. My tcase showed a temp of 10 degrees higher than both cores,iddle and load. This temp also shows in bios.
As this is impossible, i started to search for true and fals readings. Searched and read loads of data throughout the web.
This is what i found out :