• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

evga 6800gt to 6800ultra ee specs

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

barnz0432

Hello im new to overclocking with video cards and i was wondering if its possible to overclock my stock 6800 gt to the 6800 ultra ee. If anyone has some suggestions about how to do this or if its even possible. Please help

my specs
asus p4c800e deluxe mobo
3.2e p4 (maze 4 block) hoping to hit the 4ghz mark
1 gig kingston hyper x ddr 400
evga 6800gt (nv68 waterblock) hoping for ultra ee specs
520w psu
x superalien case
nec 8x dvd burner
16x dvd rom
200gig hdd
120gig hdd
danger den custom water cooling kit
the processor and graphics card are water cooled so i have no worries about temps

It is possible if you lucked out and bought an excellent 6800gt. You should definetely be able to hit ultra speeds, 400/1100, but hitting 450/1200 is asking a lot. A bios flash and increase in core voltage will help. Since you have it watercooled, you can probably go up to 1.5 volts. Good luck.

can i get the ultra ee bios and upgrade directly to that or should i go for just the ultra and try using coolbits to get to the ultra ee specs

well lets see, without water cooling i managed to hit 424/1170. and thats passed ultra speeds, so with water cooling and volt flash mod, you should be able to hit 435 on the core. thats assuming you got a pretty good o/c card. i have seen guys with the same card i have that cant even hit 410 on the core. so who knows. you will only know if you try.

450 on the core is asking a lot though bud...

I agree, I came close with my BIOS flash, but at 450MHz my graphics card went crazy as soon as I started running anything 3D. If you want to flash your BIOS to increase the voltage I would stay at 1.4V. I've heard that the GT circuitry can't handle 1.5V.