• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Fan controller, I know, but this is different...

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

p0wd3r

Ok, so there are tons of fan controllers and ways to make them, but I can't figure out how to do it this way. Keep in mind that I'm no elictrical engineer, but I can kind of read a circuit scematic, and I have the Multisim program, so if any of you smart fellas out there also have this and have a solution using Multisim (version 9) I can test it with that.

Ok, now on to the controller. I want to make this as simple as possible, and I want to avoid programming any kind of eprom, because I don't know how, I guess I could learn, but I don't want to spend a lot on the controller, since the rest of the case will cost more than my first car when I'm done with it.

I purchased some basic fan controller knobs, the kind that come with some fans and attach to the baybus slots on the back of a standard case using a full height bracked. I think these are just simple potentiometers. They have 3 pins, the left pin sits at 102 Ohms when the volume is down (left) and it's at 2 Ohms when the volume is up (right). The center pin is the signal pin, and it's connected to +12V, and the right pin is the same as the left, only opposite (2 Ohms when turned down, 102 when turned up). Ebay item link...
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=260170928685

I have LEDs, 7 colors, and all of them operate at optimal brightness at ~3V, rated for 3.1V - 3.2V forward. They came with 470 Ohm resistors, and I have a ton of other resisters. Here's a link to the ebay item, if you need more information...
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=300235689797