• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

First Build Stupidity...

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

emphaticus

Hi Guys,

Had a huge mess-up on my first build,
Essentially finished my set-up, powered on, LED and fans came on for 1 second then it shut down.

'Breadboarded' my mobo with just the CPU and it's fan, and still, the same problem ocurred...

I checked the processor, and it appeared all the pins were slanted???

Is this normal for a LGA1155 socket? (They marked dots perfectly on the processor itself) :confused:

Not sure where to go from here, whether the mobo is done for, or whether it could be a problem with the corsair cx600 psu short circuiting or something?

Any help would be MASSIVELY welcomed right now as I'm new to all this :(

What hardware are you using? Please list it all (mobo,cpu,ram,gpu).

That said, the pins go in a couple of different directions (LOOK).

Do you have both the 24 pin and 8 pin CPU plugged in to the motherboard?

Hi Guys,

Had a huge mess-up on my first build,
Essentially finished my set-up, powered on, LED and fans came on for 1 second then it shut down.

'Breadboarded' my mobo with just the CPU and it's fan, and still, the same problem ocurred...

I checked the processor, and it appeared all the pins were slanted???

Is this normal for a LGA1155 socket? (They marked dots perfectly on the processor itself) :confused:

Not sure where to go from here, whether the mobo is done for, or whether it could be a problem with the corsair cx600 psu short circuiting or something?

Any help would be MASSIVELY welcomed right now as I'm new to all this :(