• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

First ground up build cooling help please ....

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Trushot

Registered
I have lurked in this and forums like it for a few years ... and have finally just received my order from newegg and will be putting my system together this week ...

I want to eventually watercool for what i perceive would be even quieter operation but figure i better build an air cooled rig first since its my first build then modify it to watercooling later if i need.

This may be long but I want to lay out what my goals are and receive some help in accomplishing them...

Goals: HIGH END DEAD QUIET GAMING RIG and bought highest end parts i could find ( i bought the case in 2008 but never ordered any othe rparts ) so i could get away without overclocker and pick up as much silence as possible... and have a preference for as many blue led fans as i can use if not all slots

Parts:

CPU: i7 980x Extreme Edition

CPU cooler: V8 cooler master

MOBO: Asus P6X58D Premium

RAM: DDR3 1600 mghz Crucial Balistix blue led Tracers 12 GB 6x2

GPU: PowerColor AX6970 2GBD5

SSD: OCZ IBIS 240GB HSDL (High Sp Data Link)

PSU: KINGWIN LZG GOLD 1000W

CHASIS: Silverstone TJ09

All my parts are in from newegg and I am ready to begin build with one exception: Fans and Fan control except the rear and midsection stock fan that came with case ...

here is a picture of the case I own not mine just a stock pic ...
11-163-073-10.jpg

here are the fan specs for my case:

Front 1 x 120mm fan slot between HDD cages
Rear 1 x 120mm exhaust fan, 1200rpm, 21dBA
Side 1 x 120mm mid-section fan, 1200rpm, 21dBA ( which pulls in ambient air from the sides of the system with two hot rod scoop like entry points
Top 2 x 120mm fan slots

SO qustions i have: