• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

FX-4300 overclocking

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

ihatejava

Registered
Hey guys, I'm interested in overclocking my AMD FX4300 cpu.
It's at stock sitting at 3.8Ghz, but I would love to have it at 4.5GHz when overclocked.
I performed a Prime95 test for 80 minutes, max temperature reached 50 degrees Celcius (122 F) with my stock CPU cooler.
I'm brand new to overclocking, so I don't really know where to start.

My equipment is:
CPU: AMD FX-4300 Quad-Core
Motherboard: ASUS M5A78L-M LX V2
Memory: GEIL 8GB 1333MHz

Would 4.5GHz be reasonable with my current equipment? Or should I wait until I have the funds for a Corsair Hydro H100i cooler?

Thank you in advance.

I'd wait until you have the Corsair unit, then go for it.
Although these chips will clock up even on air, yours is hitting 50C at 3.8GHz under load according to your post.
Since running it at a higher clockspeed requires more voltage and the higher clockspeeds tend to generate more heat anyway, would be a good idea to hold off until you have the Corsair unit in place. No sense in killing the chip without the hardware to handle it's cooling needs to get there. Also, don't just slam it up to 4.5 right off the bat, get it there gradually so you can see what it's gonna take to run 4.5 without overdoing it from a tweaking standpoint - These chips are responsive to voltage and it doesn't take as much as you'd think to get there. Once you do, you'll have a nice OC going and a good setup for whatever you'd want it for.

Thanks for the reply, Dr. McCoy.
It might have sounded like it, but after reading all the horror stories, I never planned on jumping to 4.5GHz straight out, so there's no need to worry there.