• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

FX-6300 OC strange temps

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Barthmord

Hey Folks!

This is my first attempt at OC so bear with me.

System Specs:

http://pcpartpicker.com/p/nbzGHx for easy specs linking.

CPU - FX-6300
Cooler - Noctua NH-D14 using in box compound
Mobo - ASUS M5A99FX Pro R2.0
Case - Corsair 500R White
RAM - G.Skill Ripjaws X Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3-1866 Memory
GPU - Powercolor PCS+ R9 290
SSD - Samsung 840 Evo 250GB
HDD - WD 500GB
PSU - Corsair TX 650w
Disc - Asus BW-12B1ST/BLK/G/AS Blu-Ray/DVD/CD Writer

So, I started working on this yesterday afternoon and basically followed this guide for BIOS settings with the exception of the voltage numbers, multiplier, and I turned off CnQ mode:

Windows set to performance mode. Did not mess with LLC or FSB.

Order of ops for me(though I realize now i probably didn't need to bump voltage for lower Ghz tests):

All adjustments done through BIOS. Temps using Core Temp(high temp) and AMD Overdrive(margin).

1. Bumped up to 1.35v for cpu and 1.2v NB then set cpu to 4.0Ghz - Prime95 Small FFTs for 1 hour no errors. High temp - 44, Smallest Margin - 25.6
2. Stayed at 1.35v and 1.2v then set cpu to 4.2Ghz - Prime95 Small FFTs for 1 hour no errors. High temp - 46, Sm Margin - 24.88
3. Stayed at 1.35v and 1.2v then set cpu to 4.4Ghz - Prime95 Small FFTs for 1 hour no errors. High temp - 47, Sm Margin - 23.38
4. Stayed at 1.35v and 1.2v then set cpu to 4.6Ghz - Prime95 Small FFTs for 1 hour no errors. High temp - 49, Sm Margin - 21.38 (!?!?!) This is not possible right?
5. Thought i was a rockstar of OCing....played some Far Cry 4 for a few hours with no problems. Temps on second monitor didn't go anywhere near Prime95 numbers.