• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

FX 8350 Throttling

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Franz

Hello dear members, I need your help for the next reasson.

PC Specs before starting:

AMD Fx 8350 3,6 GHz - Stock fan.
ASUS M5A78L-M LX3
8GB RAM Corsair Vengeance
PNY Nvidia GTX 750 ti
2TB Toshiba @7200RPM
450w Power Supply that came with my Thermaltake V2 Plus case.

1 month ago I got the Fx 8350 after having a Fx 4350... But since I started playing, I noticed that I was getting FPS drops on some games sucha Flight Simulator X, World of Tanks, etc., where my FPS went down from 60 to 8-20, for about 10 seconds, after searching in forums, I noticed that the problem was the temperature, and to confirm this, I downloaded Speccy, a program to monitor my PC, I realized that when my CPU reaches 60 °C, the CPU fan increases its speed (and sound) until this lower the temperature to 40 °C, this occurs during these 10 seconds, so I modidifed the next things in the BIOS:

Cool'n'Quiet: OFF
Core C6: OFF
AMD TurboCore: OFF
Downclocked my CPU to 3,2 GHz

I didnt find the C1E state, and I think that its because my BIOS doesnt include it.

I kept searching, and I found this: https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/ ... pub?gid=2# My board doesnt support 125w CPUs.

So, I dont have much money, as to buy a new board, so I want to know:

Is there a way to fix this throttling ONLY by buying a new CPU cooler?
Should I ONLY buy a new board instead of a cooler (let the stock fan)?

Regards.