• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Getting DRAM up to rated frequency

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Argey

I've just upgraded my PC and want to get better performance from it. I've never tried overclocking before.

I want to start with memory, because MemTweakIt is reporting DRAM frequency as 2133, and it's rated at 3600MHz

First I'd like to get it running according to spec, then try to overclock it.

I'm working on understanding https://www.techpowerup.com/review/amd-ryzen-memory-tweaking-overclocking-guide/
but can I get the DRAM to work at 3600MHz easily before I start trying to overclock? If not, ok, I'll treat it as overclocking and work through the sticky threads on memory here and the above link.

I've read that I should work in BIOS, not a Windows-based app. but I don't know where to start.

Thanks.

To set your ram to the rated overclock of 3600mhz you'll want to go into bios and look for your ram settings.
  • Press F7 to go into advanced mode. Also, depending on your BIOS version, some options may be slightly different.
  • Enter the Extreme Tweeker tab to get to your Ram options.
  • Under AI Overclock Tuner select the drop down and select D.O.C.P. Standard. (This will set the ram to the X.M.P. profile automatically for you.)
  • Note the timings for the X.M.P. profile. While overclocking further you may need to come back to these settings.
  • Verify the Dram voltage. (If you're unsure what it should be, it is printed on the Ram Module. Generally between 1.25v and 1.50v depending on your particular sticks)
  • Press F10 to save you settings and exit BIOS.
  • Cross your fingers and hope it boots.

If for whatever reason your system fails to boot, you will need to clear your CMOS. Your motherboards manual will cover how to do that so I won't go into detail there.