• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Has my PSU died after overclock?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

metaljesus

UPDATE: Has my PSU died after overclock? - Follow up MOBO question

Update: It was the motherboard, please see follow up question in new post below.

Hi all. I'm a newb on here and am only posting at a last resort. I'm a regular on other forums and hate newbies posting new threads about things covered in stickies or that have already been discussed over and over - so I've done a lot of reading and searching and cant find anything already in the forum to help.

As a refference to my level of knowledge: I have some expereince in basic system building but new to overclocking and modding.

Here's the situation. I build my new system about 3 weeks ago and have been using it for work (mainly cinema4d and after effects) and gaming ever since. Its been running great. I'd always intended to overclock it but was too busy with work untill now to take the time. I've been following Miahallen's awesome 3 step guide and everything was going well. I'd figured out my limit (settings below) and had run Prime95 for 10 minutes with full load temps maxing at 90C, and was about to leave Prime95 for a few hours to confirm it was stable. I'd just finished running Cinebench to do a comparison between my pre-overclock score and the current setting's score. I opened up Firefox and was checking my email when the computer shut down. This happened when the CPU was at maybe 5% load. Now it wont power back on at all. When I press the power button the fan powers on for a fraction of a second and then stops (it turns maybe one rotation) and the graphics card does the same. The PSU makes a clicking sound. And that's it.