• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Help Building a Loop into a Fractal Define R4

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

AngryGoldfish

I've been asking around for some advice on building my first custom loop and thought maybe you folks could offer another set of opinions. I have no experience with liquid cooling—but have been reading and watching build logs on YouTube and other forums. I was initially going to construct the loop in stages by incorporating the GPU block later on and adding a second radiator to cool it, but I was advised against this and have decided to wait until later next year when I can afford it all in one go. I'm hoping to pay no more than £450/€550/$600. I'm based in Ireland and would rather shop from a UK stockist or European dealer. My specs for the build are below (some parts have yet to arrive).

Case - Fractal Define R4 Black
Motherboard - ASRock Z87 Extreme4
PSU - Corsair AX760 with custom sleeved cables
Graphics - Gigabyte G1 Gaming 970 (hoping to achieve 1550Mhz 24/7 @ around 50°C)
CPU - i5-4670K (hoping to achieve 4.5Ghz at around 1.3v & 75-78°C under OCCT)
HDD - WB 3TB Black (storage & games), WD 3TB Green (backup)
SSD - Samsung EVO 840 (boot & programs), Crucial MX100 512GB (games)

The colour scheme will be black with white accents (fans, memory modules, sleeved cables) and subtle red accents (PSU, sleeved cables)

I will probably be using clear coolant as I like the look of it and don't want the tubing to be the main visual focus. I am also hoping for a more subdued and subtle build. I know white and black are starkly contrasting colours, but they also blend together well and don't have to be gaudy like yellow and black or red and white would be. However any advice otherwise or ideas will be greatly appreciated.