• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Help choosing cooling for new system

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

18scsc

So i am looking at building my first computer... only i have really no idea what i am doing.

I am going to be recording gaming footage and so i want to be able to run like crysis 3, skyrim, battlefield 3 and some other games at about 60 fps with max settings. Since i am recording i will also be doing a lot of editing so i want to be able to do render and compress videos really fast as well.

So far i have spec'd out the major parts of the computer.
(link here: http://tinyurl.com/7zcr29r)

I will be wanting to OC the cpu to about +4.8ghz per core and then overclock the GPU.

So, keeping in mind i am a total newb when it comes to OCing and cooling systems: what would you recommend.

Thanks!!!! :)

Unless your resolution is quite low, there is no chance you will be able to run BF3 with acceptable FPS at max settings (none the less 60) with a 550ti. You need to step up that GPU big time... GTX670/680, 7870, 79507970. What resolution are you gaming on?

Chances are with the 3770k you will not be settling at a 4.8Ghz overclock either, regardless of cooling (custom water is about the only way in most cases).

As far as the PSU, Even with a 7970 or 680, you would only need a 600W PSU (which is plenty of headroom). I would look at the Corsair PSU's in that wattage range.

That HDD you listed is good for storage, but not for an OS. Its slow compared to the Caviar Black or blue. I wouldnt go less than blue personally.

EDIT: Your ram... 2133Mhz isnt needed. Get DDR3 1600Mhz and save a few dollars. That along with a lesser PSU should free up a few dollars for a better GPU which you need.

Last edited:
Im going to get a 1920 x 1080 monitor so i will have a high resolution.