• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Help - Hyper X Predator 4800 Mhz

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

TacOp280

Hello, happy holidays all, thank you for taking the time to read. Any help would be very much appreciated.

I'm having a lot of trouble getting this hyper X Predator kit working properly: Spec sheet : https://www.kingston.com/dataSheets/HX448C19PB3K2_16.pdf

Unfortunately I have very little experience overclocking ram beyond activating XMP.
This is the first time I encounter an unstable OC with ram (within XMP limits), also the first time I've owned a kit above 4000 mhz.
Ill try to lay out the problem set as clearly as I can.

Main issue
The 1st XMP profile at 4800mhz CL19-26-26 @1.5V. will not boot.

System
Asus Rog Maximus XII Hero WIFI / BIOS: 0804 (supposedly handles up to 4800mhz)
10700k OC @ 5.0 Ghz
Lian Li Galahad IO 240
2x8gb Hyper X Predator 4800 mhz
JEDEC: DDR4-2400 CL17-17-17 @1.2V
XMP Profile #1: DDR4-4800 CL19-26-26 @1.5V
XMP Profile #2: DDR4-4000 CL19-23-23 @1.35V

Zotac RTX 3090
Corsair RM 850x
Windows 10 home 64

Symptoms/Observations
System was very stable before ram swap, no crashes and low temps. (previous ram was a 3600 cl17 kit at 1.35v)
XMP 1st profile will not boot @ 4800mhz, 1.5v
XMP 1st profile boots with downclock to 4600mhz, but system is unstable and crashes after an hour or so of gaming. Either hard lock or complete shutdown.
XMP 2nd profile 4000mhz @ 1.35v boots and seems stable.
Under 1st XMP profile, VCCIO voltage reads 1.52v & System agent @ 1.616v which seems crazy high to me. CPU core is at 1.35v.
Ram are both in proper A2/B2 slots, reseated them, swapped them, no apparent physical damage or discrepancies.
Chipset drivers are up to date.