• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

HELP! Overclocking a E8400 on P5W-DH-Deluxe.

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Intel-igence

Registered
Hi, This is my very first post.

Problem: 3.6GHZ boots ok but Blue Screens after about 30 mins. Not stable??
2nd problem, I'm not good at this overclocking business.

Ok, so now what I've done is i have put the FSB to 400mhz, it works ok but like I have said, it blue screens later after 30-45 mins.
I wanted to know firstly, does anyone have this setup in terms of same mobo and same CPU? if so, I would be delighted to know their voltages etc.

Now you will probably ask whats inside my computer.
it involves:

ASUS-DH-DELUXE motherboard (Bios Revision 3001)
Intel E8400 Core 2 Duo @3.0ghz
2 x 2GB A-data DDr2 Ram 800mhz
Coolermaster hyper 212 plus heatsink (oooh yeah)
Coolermaster 430 Elite case Black.
120mm thermaltake 1225 exhaust fan,
1 X 80GB IDE Seagate HDD
1 X 500GB Maxtor SATA Hard drive.
Also most of the stuff on the bios is set to Auto as I don't understand what it means.

When I installed firstly my E8400 on this mobo for the first time, it was showing low speed, not booting up, crashing.. so i updated BIOS and now still plays up but not as much.

The Reason I posted here was that I am not an expert on this stuff but I thought that you people may be able to help me get a stable build thjat is over 3.6ghz.

Sometimes I just feel like banging my head against the wall like this :bang head when it blue screens.

Any help would be much appreciated.

Problem with cookie cutter settings are two-fold...

1. Not all systems are the same even with the same components. So while my system may be the same, my settings may not work...
2. You dont learn anything tjat way.