• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Help with building my own PC case with 2 big fans

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

kosmicro

Hi people, I have just singed up for posting this :D

Introduction

I want to build my own PC case, with awesome air flow (in summer this place gets hot, thus my computer gets really hot with rendering) and good-looking (I am a woodworker); this has been in my mind for a long time, but recently I got two old fans which used to be rack air extractors.

Here some pics ->

ucDHDMx.jpg

1eT3eNq.jpg

muM7Hor.jpg

I'm not sure how to measure their power, but they work with 220v, makes not-so-much noise (i can tolerate it), and throw A LOT of air haha
Right now I can't control their speed, but I will investigate if there is any way.

Design

(I will focus in the fan-components relation)

At first I had the idea to make like a wind tunnel, but placing the pc componets was hard, so I came up with this design.

sEQ1qh9.png

(I hope you can understand)

Air comes from the right fan, flows above and between the mother/cpu/gpu, and is extracted through the left fan (in front of the psu)

Not relevant details:
The top and (maybe) the acrylic will be able to lift up to access the interior, cable management will be solved with a guide just below the top, the components will be mounted in a metal sheet, the exterior will be wood except that part in the front, there will be diferents switchs for the PC and the fans, also the power income (220v) will be divided (one way to the psu and one to the fans), both fans will have a nice dust filter, etc.

TLTR --> build a case with 2 BIG fans (220v)

Questions

• How do you think my pc will work with so much air flowing?