• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

help with overclocking my amd fx 6100

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

TwoTabs

Registered
hello i am pretty new to overclocking, and im really unsure what all this **** means in the bios. i get the general ****. if there is anyone out there who would be willing to help me overclock my cpu i would greatly appreciate it. :)

here is my setup

CPU: AMD FX-6100 Six-Core
Motherboard: Gigabyte 970A-D3
Ram: 16 gigs of Corsair Vengeance DDR3
CPU cooler: thermaltake contac 30 with dual fans
Video Card: Sapphire Radeon 6770
PSU: Corsair TX 750
HD's: 2 Crucial M4 ssd's in raid0 + 1 500 gb storage drive
Case: Thermaltake ArmorVa8000B
Bios Revision F8e

i know tryign to explain to someoen on a forum how to overclock is prolly not easy. i can upload photos if needed of my amd overdrive and cpu id

thanks in advance

There are some preliminary steps to take.

First, gather the software reporting, monitoring and stress testing tools: "CPU-z", "HWMonitor" and "Prime95". Install them.

Open HWMonitor on the desktop and leave it open while you run the Prime95 "torture" blend test for 20 minutes to check for maximum "core" temps and CPU temps (which are actually the motherboard CPU socket temps). This will tell us if you're cooler is seated properly and the thermal pastes is applied correctly and if so, how much overclock headroom you are likely to have from a temperature standpoint. Overclocking drives up temperatures and we pretty much know where the limits of that are as far as stability of the system is concerned.

Go ahead and do that and report back to us what max core and max CPU temps turn out to be.

just a quick question i should be disabling my core performance boost options in my bios before running the test right?