• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

help with some electrical questions

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

JDMStanced

here are some info upfront.
i've got some mining rigs using about 2900W on 110V, and 720W on 240V.
Main Breaker has 50A.
Dryer outlet has 30A.

I experienced the Main Breaker tripping about 3 times now. Not sure why.
It seems that i'm well below 50A for the main breaker to trip.

So i'm planning to move a rig or two from 110V to 240V. (800W each rig.) so i can safely run my current set up and add some more GPUs.

How much Wattage can i run on 110V and 240V outlet in order to stay safe?

PS. most of the companies i call, they require the estimator to come WITHOUT getting any prior info on the job. One place quoted $69 for estimate. Is this normal?

First and foremost, I am not an electrician and any advice offered should be followed up by a certified electrician.

OK, so just to be clear you say your Main Breaker is a 50A. Is this the whole house main breaker? So the simple math for a 50A breaker is a peak max of 12,000 W with a constant load we generally factor 80% of max, or in this case 9,600 W. The reason I ask if this is your whole house breaker is that there are many appliances that may only pull 800 w constant, like a furnace blower, but will peak around 2300 W when starting up. It's very possible that a furnace and refrigerator both start-up at the same time pulling 4500 W at the same time.

First and foremost, I am not an electrician and any advice offered should be followed up by a certified electrician.