• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

HUGE heater core not sure what to do with it

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

thebig_g3

Registered
So I got my hands on this BEAST of a heatercore (its from a military truck, a 7ton to be exact, im a Marine mechanic) Its completely new straight out of the box. A mechanic before me ordered the wrong part and when it got here and i found out we didnt need it i convinced my cpl to let it disappear so now its in my room.

anyhow im not entirely sure what to do with it. I was thinking i could mount it inside a small freezer with its own pump and about a 1 gal container and let it cool that down overnight (antifreeze in it of course) and have it hook up into a quick disconnect so i can connect it to my computer ONLY for a short amount of time to maybe push the cpu further for a benchmark.

READ THIS PART i know a mini freezer CANNOT cool down a pc 24/7 i am fully aware of this i am suggesting this only for short runs for benchmarking. (there now that i said that people will probably STILL point out that a mini freezer cant handle the load over long times)

other than that i dont have any ideas of what i could do with this ginormous core.

some specs on the core

aluminium fins on copper piping
1/2 inch inlet and outlet
4 core radiator
the inlet splits into 4 different paths which converge on the outlet side
the 4 different paths are 1/4 inch piping
the dimensions of the fin area is roughly 9x9x2.5

Photo_00003.jpg

Photo_00004.jpg

Photo_00005.jpg

Photo_00006.jpg