• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

I need some help

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

AlexBainn

Registered
Hello forum
So Im pretty new to this whole computer equipment and stuff but I still heavily love to play games on computer
At the moment I have a base HP Pavillion 500 gaming computer but unfortunately some of the specs are holding me back on playing my games such as bf3, blacklight and what not
My 16th birthday is soon approaching and I was just wondering wether these components I have chosen will work and be able to be put in my computer and wether they would enhance my FPS and gaming performance

ASUS 4 GB STRIX NVIDIA GeForce GTX 970 PCIe Graphics Card

Corsair 16B (2 x 8GB) Dominator Platinum DDR3 1600MHz DIMM CL9

Intel Core i5-4690K - 3.5 GHz - socket 1150 - Processor

All help is welcome, if all doesnt work please suggest any suggestions as I am a complete dumbass to all this stuff
All the help and Regards
Alex

HP Pavillion 500... what is the hardware that is inside of it, including the power supply wattage (looking for amperage on the 12v rail specifically).

IF these would work (big IF considering we have no idea what the hardware inside is...), then it most certainly would help out. That said, you may not need to touch ram as 8GB is plenty. And if that CPU is drop in to your motherboard, it likely wouldn't help too much anyway honestly. I don't beleive that CPU will fit in the first place. Its going to be the GPU that gives you what you need really.

I assume you game at 1080p resolution?

But yeah, we need complete system specs before we can help. :)

Last edited:
If you're getting a 4690K you'll have to change the motherboard.
Power supply is only 300W, it would need to be replaced if you're adding a dedicated graphics card.

Ok cool thanks !