• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

I need some seti help fast.

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

CJ145

This is my first time in the seti forum. I usualy do the other dc project but one computer wasen't fast enough so I am running seti on it. I need to figure out how to send a work unit with out reciving a new one because I am swhiching versions. I have registered to this team and my seti name is the same as my forum name.

Welcome to the team...what do you mean by switching versions? Are you switching from screensaver to client...if so the client will run much faster. I'm not sure how to send w/o receiving a unit but if you want to switch then it's not a problem to lose an uncrunched WU. The same WU gets crunched by multiple users to verify data integrity and if you dont send in the crunched WU then it goes back into the "pool" of available units (after 60 days I think...not exactly sure)

Welcome - glad to have you on both teams. At the command line use the following switch "-stop_after_xfer" That will send the work unit when done and quit afterwards.

You are switching from the screensaver to the command line client (clc) right? Don't worry about the WU that would be downloaded. You can do the following:

After uploading hte results / downloading the next WU, you just quit the screensaver and turn it off.....go the folder you have the screensaver installed and copy to a temporal folder all the .sah you find. Install the clc with SETIDriver and SETISpy executables. Copy to this folder all the sah files and you have transfered the WU from the screensaver to the clc. If done with an already started WU, the progress will be lost, but you keep the WU alive.