• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Issues with my first IVY Overclock.

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

SisterFister

Registered
Recently built a new desktop on 1/1/2013. Got an i5-3570k. I have overclocked in the past, both with Core 2 Duo's, one in my old desktop a few years ago and more recently my P7350 in my G51VX.

I have an Asus P87ZZ-V LX mobo with the latest bios. I have been able to successfully, after much trial and error, push this baby to a stable 4.5 Ghz. -- BUT, my core voltage needs to be INSANELY high to due so. I am currently at 1.408 volts...:-/

I have great cooling, at stock 3.8 ghz with turbo mode and 12 hours of prime my max temp was 62c. At my current voltage, idle temps vary from 36-38c on all cores, and after 12 hours of prime, my temps hit 81c. I have a Cooler Master N 520 heatsink with the two stock fans in Push-pull. Also used AS5 as my TIM.

I really don't think these voltages will necessarily hurt long term as my temps are not the bad during daily use, an hour of ArmA 3 Alpha and my hottest core temp was 66c. But perhaps I am overlooking something in the BIOS?

I have multiplier at 45, LLC to 75% (Very High in asus bios i believe), cpu power to 120%, Phase mode to extreme, and PLL overvoltage turned on. I have left all C states on as those effect stability, and turning them off I was not able to drop my voltage any further. Note i have voltage set to 1.4 exactly in the bios.

Here is my CPU-Z validation, in case anyone wants to see it for reference.

http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2742685

This is my first hardcore overclock, but I did have my 2.0Ghz core 2 duo in my lappy oc'ed to 2.5 (25% oc) after modding it. I ran 2 plus years without having to increase or decrease the voltages on it.