• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Looking for advice

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Scu84St3v3420

G.SKILL TridentZ RGB Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) (PC4 25600) F4-3200C16D-16GTZR

Looking for some advice on tweaking this ram kit to get the most out of it. Unfortunately didn't do my full homework regarding ram or I would have splurged on the B-Die version of this kit, but here we are and wondering what can be done to get the best performance from my current hardware.

This kit is 3200MHz 16-18-18-38 1.35V XMP out of the box.

I am a noob on the subject of RAM overclocking, so I am really looking for a far more experienced individual to help me out here.

Current Build:

Asus ROG Strix X470-F Gaming
Ryzen 5 2600X
(Ram listed above)
GTX 1080
EVGA G3 650W

Last edited:
I don't think you can set it at much tighter timings on X470 motherboards but you can still try and maybe go for higher frequency.
Start with checking what IC is under the heatsinks. I guess there is Hynix but better if you check it. Use something like Thaiphoon Burner. There is free version which let to read memory details.

I was testing one of kits under the same PN but IC could change and I bet it's a bit different than in memory kits from 2 years ago.

New Hynix will work at something like 3333-3466 16-18-18 / 16-19-19 and up to 3600 18-20-20 1.35V. At least new HyperX or G.Skill Sniper X on new Hynix IC are scaling like that.

Is it running stable at full stock advertised frequency and timings?

I don't think you can set it at much tighter timings on X470 motherboards but you can still try and maybe go for higher frequency.
Start with checking what IC is under the heatsinks. I guess there is Hynix but better if you check it. Use something like Thaiphoon Burner. There is free version which let to read memory details.