• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Motherboard suggestions

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

djzachtyler

Hello all,

ok so first post for yall... Not a total noob to OC-ing, but have not played with it since the OG athlon XP processors so def a bit out of date with the new motherboards out there with all these fancy new settings they come with.

In a nutshell I have had a computer that has been evolving from an Athlon II x2 5400+ 64 bit prcessor with PC4200 DDR2 memory yanked from a gateway POS my lil brother blew up.

I had initially started with a new power supply and an Asus M4A785-M MoBo (as I am a huge ASUS fan). I had chosen this board as it was fully forward compatible and would allow me an easyy upgrade path later on. Now being "later on" I have upgraded to an AMD Phenom II x4 955 processor running with Kingston HyperX PC8500 DDR2 (KHX8500D2K2/4G) I have all 4 banks filled for 8GB total ram. I did my due dilligence checking QVL (qualified vendor lists) for my MoBo and based my choices from there.

After running CPUID I notice that naturally I was not quite getting the most out of my hardware as I never bothered to update settings in BIOS. I also noted that my new Kingston Memory was not showing correctly (due to the stock MoBo settings forcing it to show as PC6400 as it was undervolted etc. Known issue and to be expected)

After practicing due dilligence and mailing Kingston support to get their recommended timings and voltage for the memory I configured the BIOS settings for memory and got NADA... memory still showed as being 6400... sytem became unstable even with incresed voltage to ram etc.