• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Mouse ideas

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.
Ok, I actually want to *properly* buy a new mouse. No raiding EVGA sales on a Friday night...

Currently I have a Logitech MX Master 3S, which is a hell of a nice mouse. Ergonomic, great battery life, good weight all that.

The problem is it's just a hair too tall. When the keyboard tray is pushed in, it just barely catches the top of the desk. Tried getting a new mouse pad, no luck.

So outside of ditching a mousepad and just covering a spot with electrical tape (which 15 year old me did...) Or sanding down the top of the 3S, I might be looking for a new mouse.

I've been through the mouse aisle at MC a few times, nothing on display really stood out so I'd like to get opinions before getting something without trying it.

I usually use a "claw grip" over a "palm grip" (think that's what they're called) so maybe something a little smaller yet heavier. Don't need a gaming mouse, in fact I'll avoid it. Many of them are too angular.

Big thing being it has to have a thumb wheel and two thumb buttons or four thumb buttons. I've gotten used to having both volume control and back/forward web navigation on the mouse.

Evga X17 is solid for me.. but it also may be too tall...I also loved the ROG Strix Scope II. Though these are 'gaming' mice too... I think the X17 as the cheaper of the two... but those are what I've used exclusively the last few years.

How tall IS too tall for your desk, so at least we can try to limit suggestions to ones that work.

I also use a modified claw-type grip and have large hands (can palm a girls basketball, almost a mans).

So the 3S is listed as 2.01", and I actually had a 2S before which just barely squeezed under the top. It's listed as 1.91", so I'd probably set that as the upper limit.