• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

my NewB shines: E6850 or E6750 for best OC w/Ballistix: Mult. What Mult!

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

gamefan

I just had advice from a curious salesperson on the phone tell me that I may be better off with an E6850 cpu vs. the E6750 because of the multiplier. One is, the E6750, doesn't? While pricing it was this he said was the reason for the $100 diff in price. Best I have found in TO $190/$270 sale now. I already have 2x1GB Crucial Ballistix 6400s and a Asus P5K-E-WiFI-AP mobo. So I am new to the inside guts of overclocking, so is it better for me to get the E6850(3.0GHz/1333) vs. the E6750(2.66GHz/1333), not for the outright GHz (3.0-2.66=0.34GHz) , but for unlocking the oc potential, therefore GHZ + OC(GHz + RAM). I am not sure what my absolute (number) target is and I can't give you a number, but it is a 24/7, stable, all day everyday, never change, game/play(surf/dl)/work(MSOffice) rounded down to the nearest 0 or 5 last digit increment. I'll supply the cooling, whatever it takes. Already have a minimum of a Zalman CNPS7000-Cu.

Last time I really screwed myself by buying a P42.6C not a P42.4C, and I hate myself. It (2.6) OCd only half above stock as much as the 2.4. But there was no multiplier thingy to worry about then with either the 2.4C or 2.6C, afaik.

I understand the E6850 and E6750 to be similar overclockers. But NOW, hours before I want to buy. STOP- get the one with the multiplier. But I thought I just said they were the same. Luck. What about this multiplier thing. What? Greeeat. And I have my mobo, and RAM, and know my goal. I already decided against the PC2-8500 in favour of the PC2-6400 Ballistix. Not sure if this and the multiplier are my problem or not. Help, so, whatya say?

Last edited: