• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

My very first build - need your advice

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Neo7891

Hey there,

I'm planning on building my first o/c system for gaming. After many hours
of reading reviews and searchin forums this is my first setup.
Since I'm still fairly new to overclocking I'd appreciate your advice.
My setup so far:

Motherboard: ASUS Maximus II Formula (P45) (or maybe P5QDeluxe instead?)
CPU: Core 2 Duo E8500 (E0 Stepping)
Case: Antec 1200
PSU: Corsair TX650W
Graphics Card: XFX GTX 260 666M Black Edition 896MB
DDR2: Corsair XMS2 Dominator DIMM Kit 4GB PC2-8500U (DDR2-1066)
HDD(changed): 2x WD Cavier Black WD6401AALS for Raid0 (before: 2x Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 320GB)
CPU-Fan: Scythe Ultra Kaze 2000RPM
Heatsink: Thermalright Ultra 120 eXtreme True Black
BR-Drive: LG GGC H20L

Thanks for your help!

Last edited:
I'm fine with the Ultra Kaze beeing a little louder than the S-Flex as long
as it keeps my E8500 cool :)
Do you think it would make sense to add two fans to the TRU120 Extreme?
Concerning the HDDs I did consider getting the Barracuda 750GB version with 32MB Cache,
but in the following benchmark charts the 320GB did better than the 750GB ver. :
http://www.tomshardware.com/de/charts/35-festplatten-charts/benchmarks,24.html
That made me choose two smaller ones. Do you think that makes sense, considering
those results?
Hadn't thought about the WD Cavier before though. Looking up some test results for the
Cavier Black version they seem to have about the same performance.

Last edited:
I'm fine with the Ultra Kaze beeing a little louder than the S-Flex as long
as it keeps my E8500 cool :)
Do you think it would make sense to add two fans to the TRU120 Extreme?
Concerning the HDDs I did consider getting the Barracuda 750GB version with 32MB Cache,