• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Need a new mobo ASAP

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

mr.voldemorton

Registered
Hey, I am a long time computer user/hacker/builder, but this is my first time on a forum like this. I am in the middle of building my second PC from scratch (the rest of my PCs have been used Dells I got from my work which I fixed up). I purchased an ASUS M4A78LT-M LE from Amazon, the first one I got was DOA, so I returned it; the second one loaded windows 7 x64 fine, but I cannot get the graphics to work, I am using an EVGA nVidia 8800gt card which worked fine in my old computer. I can't play any form of video or view any pictures or play any games, (online or from my HD) without lines, grains, and a strange bluish hue to them. I tried using the onboard graphics and an nVidia Quadro FX 3450 instead of the 8800gt, but to no avail. I've decided to just give this one back and buy a new Mobo, but I need suggestions, I'm willing to pay $100 max.

AMD board? Onboard video a "must" or not? What you going to put in it for memory? DDR2 or DDR3? mATX or full ATX. Do you intend to overclock? Lot of information needed to give a recommend that makes much sense. Thanks.

A bluish hue sounds like a problem with the DVI connector. (If you're not still using the VGA-style one)

Yes, It's an AMD board, I don't really care about onboard graphics either way as I use my own GPU. My connector is DVI, which was working fine with my old computer, I guess I'll try another cable just in case. I have DDR3 Ram, I would prefer ATX, but I can deal with mATX.

Usually 870 boards are the least expensive ATX boards.
890 boards use the same northbidge/southbridge, and have onboard video, 880 boards have onboard video but are usually mATX.