• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Need help building!!!

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

uthvag

Hello,

I am new to building a computer so i really need some help

I want it to last for the next 6 years (i donot care if i play games at low settings at the end of this period)

My budget is around 1300$

the preferred build is

Processor

I prefer i7 4820k but as it requires a costly motherboard i opted for 17 4770k

GPU

GTX 770 2\4 GB or r9 280x 3GB

Mother board

anything with LGA1150 will work i think

RAM

16 GB

The main problem here is i don't know which PSU MB or GPU to buy

i cant decide between the r9 280x or gtx 770 4gb

I live in India so everything is a bit costlier here

So i plan on getting some parts like the gpu from the US but i worry about the warranty

GTX 770 4gb -300-400$(18-24k inr) India- 35000INR
r9 280x 3gb - 22000 INR(India)

Please help me select a good psu from one of these

http://http://www.flipkart.com/computers/computer-components/power-supply-units/pr?q=psu&as=on&as-show=on&otracker=start&sid=6bo%2Cg0i%2Cqbk&as-pos=1_1_ic

Please help me select the best mother board

http://www.flipkart.com/search?q=lga+1150&as=off&as-show=on&otracker=start

Also next year i will be in college and u might end up in a hostel so i dont know if i should get a gaming laptop but I heard that its life us very low and it is also really costly

so can someone give me an idea if the lifespan of those cards?
my old 9500Gt still works whenever i use it (bought it 5yrs back), Are the components worth being imported ?

Thanks

The Corsair VS550 will be plenty assuming you are not planning on adding another card down the road...

As far as motherboards, do you plan on overclocking? I would plan it, especially if you are keeping the PC for 6 years...